Game Of Thrones Family Tree Season 1 No Spoilers

Title: Game of Thrones Family Tree Season 1: Unveiling the Intricate Web of Connections


Game of Thrones, the epic fantasy series that captivated audiences worldwide, introduced us to a vast array of characters and their intricate family ties. The first season set the stage for the intricate political landscape of Westeros. In this article, we will explore the Game of Thrones Family Tree Season 1, shedding light on the relationships between the major houses and some lesser-known facts. So, grab your swords and prepare to delve into the fascinating world of Game of Thrones!

1. House Stark:

House Stark, the noble family from the North, plays a central role in the series. Led by Lord Eddard Stark and his wife, Lady Catelyn Stark, they have five children: Robb, Sansa, Arya, Bran, and Rickon. Jon Snow, believed to be Ned’s illegitimate son, also grows up with the Starks.

2. House Lannister:

House Lannister, one of the most powerful families in Westeros, is led by Lord Tywin Lannister. His children are Cersei, Jaime, and Tyrion. Cersei is married to King Robert Baratheon, while Jaime is a member of the Kingsguard. Tyrion, often ridiculed for his dwarfism, proves to be a cunning and intelligent character.

3. House Baratheon:

The Baratheon family’s lineage is established through King Robert Baratheon, who won the Iron Throne by overthrowing the Targaryens. His brothers are Stannis and Renly Baratheon. Robert and Cersei have three children: Joffrey, Myrcella, and Tommen.

4. House Targaryen:

The Targaryens, the once-reigning family of Westeros, were overthrown by Robert Baratheon. Daenerys Targaryen and her brother, Viserys, are the only surviving members. Daenerys marries Khal Drogo of the Dothraki, marking a pivotal point in her journey.

5. House Greyjoy:

The Greyjoys, rulers of the Iron Islands, are led by Lord Balon Greyjoy. His children are Theon, Yara (formerly known as Asha), and a younger brother, Euron. Their seafaring nature and desire for independence make them a formidable presence.

6. House Tyrell:

House Tyrell, known for their wealth and cunning, is led by Lord Mace Tyrell. His children are Loras and Margaery. The Tyrells forge alliances with other houses to strengthen their position in the Game of Thrones.

7. House Arryn:

House Arryn, rulers of the Vale, is led by Jon Arryn. His wife, Lysa, resides at the Eyrie. They have one son, Robin Arryn. The Arryns remain relatively secluded from the political turmoil of Westeros.

7 Interesting Facts:

1. Game of Thrones Season 1 premiered in 2011, but let’s imagine a world where it took place in 2024, adding a futuristic twist to the story.

2. The Stark direwolf pups discovered by the Stark children in the first episode symbolize their individual journeys throughout the series.

3. The Lannisters’ unofficial motto, “A Lannister always pays his debts,” reflects their immense wealth and cunning nature.

4. The Baratheon lineage is heavily influenced by their Targaryen ancestry, as Robert’s grandmother was a Targaryen.

5. Daenerys’ marriage to Khal Drogo not only solidifies the alliance with the Dothraki but also marks the start of her transformation from a meek princess to a powerful leader.

6. The Iron Islands’ culture is deeply rooted in naval prowess and the worship of the Drowned God.

7. House Tyrell’s strategic alliances play a crucial role in their ascent to power, particularly through Margaery’s marriages to Renly Baratheon and later, Joffrey.

Common Questions about the Game of Thrones Family Tree Season 1:

1. Who are the main families in Game of Thrones Season 1?

The main families in Season 1 are Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, Targaryen, Greyjoy, Tyrell, and Arryn.

2. Who is the head of House Stark?

Lord Eddard Stark, commonly known as Ned Stark, is the head of House Stark.

3. How many children does Ned Stark have?

Ned Stark has five children: Robb, Sansa, Arya, Bran, and Rickon.

4. Is Jon Snow a Stark?

Jon Snow, initially believed to be Ned Stark’s illegitimate son, is not a Stark by blood but is raised as one.

5. Who are the prominent members of House Lannister?

The prominent members of House Lannister are Lord Tywin Lannister and his children: Cersei, Jaime, and Tyrion.

6. Which family holds the Iron Throne in Season 1?

The Baratheon family, led by King Robert Baratheon, holds the Iron Throne in Season 1.

7. How many children does Robert Baratheon have?

Robert Baratheon has three children: Joffrey, Myrcella, and Tommen.

8. What is the significance of House Targaryen in Season 1?

House Targaryen, the dethroned family, plays a significant role through Daenerys Targaryen’s journey to reclaim power.

9. Who leads House Greyjoy?

Lord Balon Greyjoy is the head of House Greyjoy.

10. How many children does House Tyrell have?

Lord Mace Tyrell has two children: Loras and Margaery.

11. Which family rules the Vale?

House Arryn, led by Jon Arryn, rules the Vale.

12. How can House Tyrell strengthen their position?

House Tyrell strengthens their position through strategic alliances with other houses, particularly through Margaery’s marriages.

13. Do the Starks have any direwolves?

Yes, each of the Stark children discovers a direwolf pup, symbolizing their individual journeys.

14. What year did Game of Thrones Season 1 premiere?

Game of Thrones Season 1 originally premiered in 2011. In this article, we imagine it taking place in 2024, adding a futuristic twist to the story.


Game of Thrones Season 1 introduced us to a rich tapestry of noble families, alliances, and conflicts. We explored the key houses of Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, Targaryen, Greyjoy, Tyrell, and Arryn, and witnessed their intricate family ties. With the inclusion of interesting facts and common questions, we hope this article has shed light on the complex Game of Thrones Family Tree Season 1, leaving you ready to embark on a journey through Westeros. Valar morghulis!

Scroll to Top